Today I don’t want to be a teacher

20120528-184557.jpg
Today I don’t want to be a teacher.
Not because I don’t like children.
I do.
Not because I don’t like imparting knowledge and watching young people engage with the world around them.
I do.
But because today I felt too exhausted to jump through the hoops.
I am not the first person to say this, and I won’t be the last. I am not saying anything new and if anything this post is in support of the one written by Mark Clarkson that I read a few weeks ago. A far more brilliant post than this one I might add. You can read it here.
After 18 years in the profession I find myself questioning my ability.
On a daily basis.
I am finding the flow of my lessons impeded by the need to metaphorically tick boxes. I am worried that if my class digress – because they have questions they would like answered that are not in my lesson objectives – it will be unsatisfactory progress.
Learning should be about wonder, excitement, sharing, and learning (both for the ‘teacher’ and ‘pupil’). Time in class should be time to explore, experiment, take risks, and make mistakes. Thanks to technology the world is more open to pupils now then it ever has been and yet at times I feel they are increasingly confined by the four walls that the government are closing in around teachers as they do not trust us to do our job.
How can I teach if I can’t inspire?

Picture from Calvin and Hobbes: Attack of the Deranged Mutant Killer Monster Snow Goons by Bill Watterson.
I included it as it sums education up in a number of ways, but also because I displayed it at the start of my year 7 lesson on Daily Routine to raise a smile. I am not always a pessimist.

Leave a Reply

